The Bonesetter’s Daughter

I don’t remember who it was among my friends who recommended that I’d read Amy Tan but finding her book The Bonesetter’s Daugther at the library I decided to give it a go. The recommendation was most likely to read The Joy Luck Club, which must be her most wellknown book but I often like the hidden gems. It’s rare that the most famous book, or song, movie etcetera, turns out to be my personal favourite.

This book posed some confusion. The modern day setting, that takes up the greater part of the first half of the book, didn’t really draw me in. It was well written enough to keep reading but I didn’t care too much about the characters and their lives. But…

Then starts a travel back in time to China before the second world war and shortly beyond. This storyline was facinating, exotic and transported me to a time, a place and lives I wouldn’t come across in other ways than through books. I loved this part of the book.

Since I had such different experiences of the same book, I do wonder if the storyline set in China would have worked on it’s own without the modern day reference, or would I have felt that something was missing, perhaps that the story didn’t go full circle without the three generations that feature in the book.

The only thing I can conclude is that Amy Tan certainly is a good writer worth reading more of. Maybe I should try Joy Luck Club after all.

 

Amy Tan

Leave a Reply

