Bride and a Missing Groom

IMAG2556

I realized I haven’t publishing any of my own writing for a while. Recently, close friends of mine got married, big congrats to them. I hope they live happily ever after as in the fairytales.

To stay on the wedding theme, here is my poem Bride and a Missing Groom, a musing of the happily ever after.

 

Bride and a Missing Groom

Princess dresses
Cinderella shoes
Sugary pinks and blues
A prince of course
But no thoughts further

Big wedding
All my friends
A church in a
Picturesque location
Still fairy tale dreaming

Simplicity is the key
Plain silvery dress
Escaping with the
man I love and
those most important

Iā€™m nearing middle-age
The wedding not important
Neither is the ring
Someone to belong with
Someone to grow old with

Perhaps I want the ring after all
And someone to share life with
But I know perfectly well
that I can live happily without it

Leave a Reply

