I’m a Poet

At the end of last year I promised myself that this year, I wasn’t going to be so busy. There was hardly one evening in the week that I wasn’t booked up with something. Guess what, I’m right back to getting myself caught up in too many things – again.

Monday I joined a new writers group. I’m now part of three. Fair enough they are all different, which is why I find each of them interesting to participate in. The new one is poetry focused. I have never seen myself as a poet, although that is what I started out writing, but poetry for me has always been a way of venting what I feel at any specific moment. However, after 15 (or more) years of writing poetry, perhaps it’s time to take myself a little bit more seriously. Hence the new writers group.

Writers groups in general can be a very good way to improve as a writer. The first group I joined was Greenwich Writers. We submit our texts beforehand and everyone has read and is prepared to give feed-back when we meet. The feed-back is always very straight to the point and constructive although we can end up in the weirdes discussions sometimes. I’ve had enormous help perfecting texts with the help of this group.

The second group I joined was Global Fusion Music and Arts’ writers group. Global Fusion’s motto is to build confidence through arts, we therefore don’t give criticism in the sense of finding weaknesses in the texts. Instead we focus on what we appreciate. We pick a theme and write a text on that theme for the next meeting. Each person read their piece for the others to comment on afterwards. It’s a great creativity exercise. Often you hear the theme and think, “no way, I’ll be able to write something about that,” but somehow you do.

This last writers group, National Poetry Society’s Greenwich stanza group, worked in a similar way to Greenwich Writer’s with the exception that you bring your poem to the group to be read out load for the other’s to comment on. It works with poetry but I wouldn’t want use that format with longer pieces. The weird moment comes after reading when it goes quiet and you sit their waiting for the other’s to re-read your poem before they start commenting. I got some excellent comment though on a poem that I’ve considered finished for years.

Time for a re-write

 

Leave a Reply

