GFMA Poetry and Spoken Words

I’m due again, to read at an open mic night. Thursday the 27th of July, next week, I will be part of the line up for Global Fusion’s Poetry and Spoken Word night at the Guardhouse Pub in Woolwich, London.

I have probably mentioned before that reading to an audience is not really my idea of fun. Although I don’t consider myself shy, I don’t really enjoy having the focus of attention drawn to me. I have on the other hand come to terms with that as a writer these events need to be attended, because if no one knows who you are then no one will follow your writing progress or buy what you publish. I would consider myself a successful writer if I have readers who like my stories and poetry, even if readers come in few numbers.

I tend to leave to the audience whether to like it or not. I think a lot of people feel self-conscious about their writing, that what they write is not good enough or that people won’t like it. There are so many writers out there though and I don’t feel that I’m either better or worse than any of them. Some will like what I write and some will not. If you try to please everyone, you’re in for a pitfall.

Tomorrow my business cards promoting my short-story “Let me tell you a story while you sleep” will arrive. Another promotional tool that may or may not work.

“Let me tell you a story while you sleep” is now available through Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, Apple iBooks and other online stores in the Smashwords’ distribution chain.

 

Leave a Reply

