Author Learning Day

This Saturday I am attending my first one-to-one literary agent event. I have previously sent in material for comments at agent events but this will be the first time I will sit face to face with an agent to discuss my writing. To say that I’ll be nervous is an understatement.

I have sent the agent two shorter extracts instead of one longer. Part of the reason is that I don’t think I am within this particular agent’s scope; partly because I want to discuss my texts rather than try to pitch novels that are not quite ready. Why you may ask?

Well, I have heard through the grapevine that agents rarely take on new writers at these events. I therefore have no such expectations. Better to focus on what can be achieved – practice talking about your own writing, getting professional critique and learn more about how to further my career as a writer.

“Practice make perfect,” they say so Saturday is author learning day.

Leave a comment